Desireless is Deathless »
Drop of Dhamma Delight!


How can one realize the Deathless Here and Now?

The Blessed Buddha once said:

Bhikkhus, there are these Four Foundations of Awareness. What four?
When a Bhikkhu keenly contemplates:

1: The mere form within all Body...
2: The mere reaction within all Feeling...
3: The mere mood within all Mind...
4: The mental state within all Phenomena..

while always acutely aware & clearly comprehending, he thereby removes
any urge, envy, jealousy, frustration and discontent rooted in this world...
While contemplating the body as mere form, feeling as mere reaction, mind
as mere mood and all phenomena as momentary mental states, whatever lust,
desire and craving he has for any form, for any feeling, for any mentality, and
for whatever juicy phenomenon, that very desire is abandoned and eliminated
right there and then! When desire is eliminated, the Deathless dimension itself
is realized...

The 4 Frames of Reference

Details on these 4 Foundations of Awareness (Sati):

More on this dual Desire (Chanda):

Source of reference (edited extract):
The Grouped Sayings of the Buddha. Samyutta Nikāya.
Book [V: 181-2] 47 The Foundations of Awareness: 37 Desire..

Desireless is Deathless..

Back Home Index Next

Recommended Links