The Ultimate Fact »
Drop of Dhamma Delight!


What are the details of the First Noble Truth of Suffering?

The Blessed Buddha once said:
What, now, Bhikkhus and Friends, is The Noble Truth of Suffering?
Birth is Suffering; arising is Suffering; ageing is Suffering, decay is
Suffering; death is Suffering! Sorrow, pain, lamentation, frustration,
depression, melancholy, sadness, hopelessness, & despair are Suffering...
Not to get what one wants and to get what one not wants is Suffering!

All the groups of existence: The Five Cluster of Clinging are Suffering!
What now is birth? The birth of the various kinds of beings, their being
born, their conception & springing into existence, the manifestation of
the 5 groups of existence, the appearance of the 5 clusters of clinging,
the beginning of the activity of sensing: All this is called birth...
And what is decay & ageing? The decay of all the various kinds of beings,
their becoming aged, elderly, weak, withered, atrophic, gray, & wrinkled,
the failing of their vitality, the fading away of their abilities & senses:
All this is called decay & ageing...
And what is death? The departing & exit of the various kinds of beings,
their destruction, vanishing, disappearance, dissolution of components,
ceasing of life, the casting aside of the body form: This is called death...
And what is sorrow? The sorrow arising by this or that loss or calamity
the worry, the distress, mental pain & affliction: This is called sorrow...
And what is lamentation? Whatsoever, after any deprivation or mishap,
is wailing & weeping, moaning & mourning: All this is called lamentation...
And what is pain? The bodily pain & unacceptable physical displeasure,
the painful, aching, and unpleasant feeling produced by bodily reaction:
All this is called pain...
And what is sadness? The mental pain and frustration, the dejection,
grief, depression, and unpleasant feeling produced by mental reaction:
All this is called sadness...
And what is despair? The Distress & despair arising through this or that
loss or misfortune, hopelessness, and desperation: this is called despair.
And what is the Suffering of not getting what one wishes?
To beings subject to birth there comes this desire: Oh, may we not be
reborn and to beings subject to decay, disease, death, sadness, pain,
& despair, this desire arises in them: Oh, may we only & always be happy!
But this cannot be got by mere desire... To be thus naive is Suffering! 
Source: DN22

Not exactly pleasing, but absolutely true and thus freeing!

More on these 4 Noble Truths (Cattari Ariya Saccani):

The Ultimate Fact!

Home Index


Recommended Links
  • C and M Law Corporation are about more than dollar figures. We are about effectively helping people through our a personal injury team, unafraid to fight on their behalf against insurance companies and other big business interests. We have been a reputable Los Angeles personal injury attorney firm serving the city’s residents for over 45 years. Personal injury encompasses many types of lawsuits. Regardless of the type of accident or injury, we have the experience to successfully represent you and your family. If you or someone you know has been injured through the negligence or recklessness of others, come see us. We can help get you the compensation you and your loved ones deserve. The personal injury attorney Los Angeles firm of C and M Law Corporation has won an excess of 2 Billion Dollars in settlements!