Thank you to our sponsor Personal Injury Attorney Los Angeles


The Four Grades of Vision!

The Blessed Buddha once said:
In this some recluse or priest by means of alert energetic effort and
enthusiasm, through proper rational attention and concentrated focus
reaches absorption on this sole thought: In this foul body of disgusting
things enclosed by skin, there are head and body hairs, nails, teeth, skin,
flesh, sinews, bones, marrow, kidneys, heart, liver, pleura, spleen, lungs,
mesentery, intestines, stomach, excrement, bile, lymph, pus, blood, sweat,
fat, tears, tallow, spittle, snot, urine and fluid of the joints...
This is the first attainment of Vision...

Empty Frame: Having done this and gone beyond it, he regards and perceives
any body, own or others, only as a chained frame of bones covered with flesh,
vessels, fat and skin. This is the second attainment of Vision...

Chain of Moments: Having done this and gone further, he comes to understand
and directly experience this continuous sequence of discrete conscious moments
established in and manifesting both this world and all the other dimensions.
This is the third attainment of Vision...

Continuous yet not Established: Finally, having done this and gone even further
than beyond that, he comes to understand and directly experience this unbroken
stream of consciousness, which is neither established in, nor manifesting anything
in this or any other world... This is the fourth attainment of Vision...

More on the crucial 1st and 2nd Anatomical Visions:

Source: The Exhaustive Speeches by the Buddha. Digha Nikāya III 105-5

Winning Vision!

Recommended Links