bodhipakkhiya dh »
  • bodhipakkhiya-dhammā

The 37 'things pertaining to enlightenment', or 'requisites of enlightenment' comprise the entire doctrines of the Buddha.

They are:

  • the 4 foundations of mindfulness (satipatthāna, q.v.),

  • the 4 right efforts (s. padhāna),

  • the 4 roads to power (iddhi-pāda, q.v.),

  • the 5 spiritual abilities (indriya; s. bala),

  • the 5 spiritual powers (bala, q.v.),

  • the 7 factors of enlightenment (bojjhanga),

  • the Noble 8-fold Path (s. magga).

In M.77 all the 37 bodhipakkhiya-dhammā are enumerated and explained though not called by that name.

A detailed explanation of them is given in Vis.M. XXII. In S.XLVII, 51, 67, only the five spiritual abilities (indriya) are called bodhipakkhiya-dhammā; and in the Jhāna-Vibhanga, only the 7 factors of enlightenment (bojjhanga).

See The Requisites of Enlightenment, by Ledi Sayadaw (WHEEL 169/172).

Home  To Index

Recommended Links
  • C and M Law Corporation are about more than dollar figures. We are about effectively helping people through our a personal injury team, unafraid to fight on their behalf against insurance companies and other big business interests. We have been a reputable Los Angeles personal injury attorney firm serving the city’s residents for over 45 years. Personal injury encompasses many types of lawsuits. Regardless of the type of accident or injury, we have the experience to successfully represent you and your family. If you or someone you know has been injured through the negligence or recklessness of others, come see us. We can help get you the compensation you and your loved ones deserve. The personal injury attorney Los Angeles firm of C and M Law Corporation has won an excess of 2 Billion Dollars in settlements!