dic3 l »


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y


Lahutā: 'lightness', or 'agility', may be of 3 kinds: of materiality rūpassa lahutā see: khandha I, of mental properties kāya-lahutā and of consciousness citta-lahutā Cf. Tab. II.

Lakkhana: 'characteristics'. For the 3 ch. of existence, s. ti-lakkhana

Law: dhamma

Learning: understanding based on: see: paññā

Generosity: dāna, cāga

Liberation: s. vimokkha.

Life-infatuation: s. mada.

Light: perception of: see: āloka-saññā

Light-kasina: s. kasina

Lightness: of materiality, mental properties and consciousness: lahutā

Loathsomeness: of the body: see: asubha, sivathikā, kāyagatāsati.

Lobha: 'greed', is one of the 3 disadvantageous roots mūla and a synonym of rāga and tanhā

Lobha-carita: 'greedy-natured', see: carita.

Lofty consciousness: s. sobhana.

Lohita-kasina: 'red-kasina', see: kasina.

Loka: 'world', denotes the 3 spheres of existence comprising the whole universe, i.e. 1 the sense-world kāma-loka or the world of the 5 senses; 2 the fine-material world rūpa-loka corresponding to the 4 fine-material absorptions see: jhāna 1-4; 3 the immaterial world arūpa-loka corresponding to the 4 immaterial absorptions see: jhāna 5-8.

The sense-world comprises the hells niraya the animal kingdom tiracchāna-yoni the ghost-realm peta-loka the demon world asura-nikāya the human world manussa-loka and the 6 lower celestial worlds see: deva I. In the fine-material world see: deva II still exist the abilities of seeing and hearing, which, together with the other sense abilities, are temporarily suspended in the 4 absorptions. In the immaterial world see: deva III there is no materiality whatsoever, only the four mental groups see: khandha exist there.

Though the term loka is not applied in the Suttas to those 3 worlds, but only the term bhava 'existence' e.g. M. 43, there is no doubt that the teaching about the 3 worlds belongs to the earliest, i.e. sutta-period, of the Buddhist scriptures, as many relevant passages show.

Loka-dhamma: 'worldly conditions': 'Eight things are called worldly conditions, since they arise in connection with worldly life, namely: gain and loss, fame and anonymity, happiness and misery, praise and blame' Vis.M XXII. Cf. also A. VIII, 5.

Lokiya: 'mundane', are all those states of consciousness and mental properties - arising in the worldling, as well as in the Noble One - which are not associated with the supra-mundane lokuttara see: the foll. paths and fruitions of sotāpatti etc. See ariya-puggala A.

Lokuttara: 'supra-mundane', is a term for the 4 paths and 4 fruitions of sotāpatti etc. see: ariya-puggala with Nibbāna as ninth. Hence one speaks of '9 supra-mundane things' nava-lokuttara-dhamma. Cf. prec.

Loving-kindness: mettā see: brahma-vihāra

Lower mental chains: the 5: see: samyojana

Lower worlds: the 4: apāya

Low speech: tiracchāna-kathā

Lust: s. rāga

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y

Recommended Links