Final Abilities »


Which 5 Mental Abilities give Final Knowledge?

The Blessed Buddha once said:
Bhikkhus, there are these 5 mental abilities (indriya). What five?

The ability of Faith (saddhā)
The ability of Energy (viriya)
The ability of Awareness (sati)
The ability of Concentration (samādhi)
The ability of Understanding (pañña)

These are the five abilities.
When a Bhikkhu has understood as they really are the gratification,
the danger, and the escape in the case of these five abilities, then
this Bhikkhu is released by non-clinging, then he is called an Arahat,
one whose mental fermentations are eliminated, who has completed
the Noble life, who has done what should be done, put down the burden,
reached his own goal, utterly broken the chains of ever new re-becoming,
one who is completely liberated through final knowledge...

On These 5 Mental Abilities (indriya) see:

Source of reference (edited extract):
The Grouped Sayings of the Buddha. Samyutta Nikāya.
Book [V: 194] 48 The Mental Abilities: 4 Arahat..

Final Knowledge!

Back Home Index Next

Recommended Links
  • C and M Law Corporation are about more than dollar figures. We are about effectively helping people through our a personal injury team, unafraid to fight on their behalf against insurance companies and other big business interests. We have been a reputable Los Angeles personal injury attorney firm serving the city’s residents for over 45 years. Personal injury encompasses many types of lawsuits. Regardless of the type of accident or injury, we have the experience to successfully represent you and your family. If you or someone you know has been injured through the negligence or recklessness of others, come see us. We can help get you the compensation you and your loved ones deserve. The personal injury attorney Los Angeles firm of C and M Law Corporation has won an excess of 2 Billion Dollars in settlements!