Five Abilities »


What are the Five Mental Abilities making Safe?

The Blessed Buddha once said:
Bhikkhus, there are these 5 mental abilities. What five?

The ability of Faith (saddhā)
The ability of Energy (viriya)
The ability of Awareness (sati)
The ability of Concentration (samādhi)
The ability of Understanding (pañña)

When, Bhikkhus, a Noble Disciple understands as they really are the
gratification, the danger, and the escape regarding these five abilities,
then he is called a Noble Disciple, who is a stream-enterer, no longer bound
to the lower worlds, fixed in destiny, with enlightenment as his assured
future destination!

On These 5 Mental Abilities (indriya) see:

Source of reference (edited extract):
The Grouped Sayings of the Buddha. Samyutta Nikāya.
Book [V: 193] 48 The Mental Abilities: 2 Stream-Enterer..

The 5 Abilities..

Back Home Index Next

Recommended Links