Freed from Fermentation »


What are the Fruits of the 5 Mental Abilities?

The Blessed Buddha once explained:

Bhikkhus, there are these five mental abilities. What five?

The ability of Faith (saddhā)
The ability of Energy (viriya)
The ability of Awareness (sati)
The ability of Concentration (samādhi)
The ability of Understanding (pañña)

These are the five abilities.
It is, Bhikkhus, because he has developed and cultivated these 5 abilities,
that a Bhikkhu, by the destruction of the fermentations, in this very life
enters and dwells in the stainless liberation of mind, released by wisdom,
realizing it for himself by direct experience and complete understanding..

The 4 mental fermentations are wrong, false and hidden assumptions associated with:
1: Sense-desire (kāmāsava). Example: "Sensing is only and always pleasant. Pain is irrelevant.."
2: Desire for new existence (bhavāsava): Ex: "All life is good. Decay and death is insignificant.."
3: Wrong views (ditthāsava) Ex: "I am better, know better, and what I think is never wrong..."
4: Ignorance (avijjāsava) Ex: "The 4 Truths of suffering, craving, end, and noble way don't exist...."

For Details on the Mental Fermentations (āsava)  see:

All beings can train their mental abilities!

Source of reference (edited extract):

The Grouped Sayings of the Buddha. Samyutta Nikāya.
Book [V: 203] 48 The Mental Abilities: 20 Fermentation free..

Uprooting Mental Fermentation!

Back Home Index Next

Recommended Links