sakkaaya ditthi »
  • sakkāya-ditthi

'personality-belief', is the first of the 10 fetters (samyojana).

It is entirely abandoned only on reaching the path of Stream-winning (sotāpatti-magga; s. ariya-puggala).

There are 20 kinds of personality-belief, which are obtained by applying 4 types of that belief to each of the 5 groups of existence (khandha):

  • (1-5) the belief to be identical with materiality, feeling, perception, mental constructions or consciousness;
  • (6-10) to be contained in them;
  • (11-15) to be independent of them;
  • (16-20) to be the owner of them (M.44; S.XXII.1).

See prec., ditthi, upādāna 4.

Home  To Index

Recommended Links