The 3 kinds of Suffering »


There are Three kinds of Suffering (Dukkha):

The Blessed Buddha once explained:

Bhikkhus, there are these three kinds of suffering. What three?

1: The Suffering caused by painful feeling... (dukkha-dukkha)
2: The Suffering caused by construction... (sankhāra-dukkha)

3: The Suffering caused by change... (viparināma-dukkha)

These are the three kinds of suffering! This Noble 8-fold Way is to be
developed for the direct experience of these three kinds of suffering,
for the full understanding of them, for their complete elimination,
and for their final overcoming, abandoning and leaving all behind...
The Noble 8-fold Way is to be developed for Ending of Suffering!



The 1st kind of suffering due to painful feeling, mental & bodily, is obvious.

The 2nd suffering comes when pleasurable constructions always fall apart.

The 3rd suffering is when a pleasant object inevitably changes and decays.

More on Suffering (Dukkha)


Source (edited extract):
The Grouped Sayings of the Buddha. Samyutta Nikāya.
Book [V:56] section 45: The Way. 165: The Sufferings ...

The 3 Sufferings!

Recommended Links