The 7 stages of Purification »
Drop of Dhamma Delight!


The Seven Stages of Purification!

Following the Noble 8-fold Way the mind is purified in 7 stages:
1: Purification of Morality (sīla-visuddhii).
2: Purification of Mind (
3: Purification of View (
4: Purification by Overcoming Doubt (
5: Purification by knowledge & vision of what is
Path and Not-Path.
6: Purification by knowledge and vision of Progress on the
7: Purification of Knowledge and Vision (


The classic text is MN 24 Ratha-vinita Sutta: The Relay Chariots:

And for a complete account of Full Mental Purification:
The Path of Purification: Visuddhimagga." by the great explainer
Buddhaghosa in 5th century AC well translated by Bhikkhu ñānamoli.

Free as PDF file here:


More on these 7 stages of mental purity:

The 7 stages of Purification..

Home Index


Recommended Links