The Peak »


Inclining, sloping, and falling towards Enlightenment!

The Blessed Buddha once said:
Bhikkhus, just as all the rafters in a peaked house slant, slant, slope, tilt, tend, incline
and veer towards the roof peak, even so, when a bhikkhu begin to develop and cultivate
the Seven Links to Awakening, then he indeed slants, slopes, tilts, tends, inclines and
veers towards Nibbāna... Why and how is this convergence so?  When, friends, a Bhikkhu trains,
develops, expands, consolidates and refines:

1: The Awareness Link to Awakening: sati-sambojjhanga.
2: The Investigation Link to Awakening: dhammavicaya-sambojjhanga.
3: The Energy Link to Awakening: viriya-sambojjhanga.
4: The Joy Link to Awakening: pīti-sambojjhanga.
5: The Tranquillity Link to Awakening: passaddhi-sambojjhanga.
6: The Concentration Link to Awakening: samādhi-sambojjhanga.
7: The Equanimity Link to Awakening: upekkhā-sambojjhanga.

based upon seclusion, disillusion, and ceasing, maturing & culminating in release, then these
7 Links to Awakening and the repeated training of them, in and by themselves, make him slant,
slope, tilt, tend, veer and incline towards Nibbāna...

On these 7 Links to Awakening (Sambojjhanga):

Source (edited extract):
The Grouped Sayings of the Buddha. Samyutta Nikāya.
[V: 75-6] section 46: The Links. 7: The Peaked House....

The Peak!

Back Home Index Next

Recommended Links